What is a European Community Trademark?


European Trademarks (usually referred to as “Community Trademarks” or “CTM) are applications that cover 27 Trademark Offices via one application. Filed via the OHIM (Office of Harmonization in the Internal Market) in Alicante, a Community Trademark application saves the applicant time and money by avoiding filing 27 individual applications to secure your trademark rights across Europe. Further administration changes such as ownership changes and renewals can be done easily via one point of reference via the OHIM, rather than many for individual offices.


What can you trademark?

To be accepted, a European Community Trademark has to meet certain criteria, find out more about these here.

Who can Apply?

European (CTM) Trademark Applications can be filed by Individuals, Sole Traders, Partnerships, Limited Companies, Public Limited Companies (PLCs) and Limited Liability Partnerships (LLPs).

How long does a European “Community” Trademark last?

European Trademarks last for a total duration of ten years which commence from their filing date. Your Trademark can then be renewed indefinitely over 10 year cycles.

Back to All European Community Guide Sections